Retreat, Respite, Renewal, Revival

I have never been the sort of person who prepares a detailed agenda or itinerary for my time away. When people try to wring every ounce of experience out of a trip, because of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) or to maxmize ROI (Return on Investment), what I hear is the anxious mind that drives our work and world far too often laying hold to the blessing of rest and renewal.

An adult human is walking a small black and white dog on the beach in Maine.

This isn’t to say that I am aimless when I travel. There is a certain amount of planning that goes into the actual journey there and back again. I may have hopes of sharing moments with loved ones, like the beach walk and shell finding in the picture. Part of what makes rest into rest is a lack of demand, either internal or external. The reset that my body, mind, and soul needs comes from that flexibility, freedom, and non-attachment to outcomes.

I do think of different kinds of time away differently, and find that when I try to mix and match, especially multiple kinds of time away into one trip, I often feel undernourished and overstimulated. Instead of dwelling richly in one heart and headspace, I’m bouncing from one posture to another, effectively recreating my daily living. There can be great joy in being present to one good thing.

When I’m away from home for Retreat, I go to focus on nurturing my relationship to the Divine and to other pilgrims who are following their practice along the way. Whether solo or in a group, I look for ways to embrace prayer, silence, contemplation, worship, active sharing and listening, being fully present to what is happening. I may see beautiful sights along the way, but I don’t go sightseeing. If there is a schedule planned by the group or the site, I follow it, while also attending to my needs. If there is no schedule, I let the simple rhythms of the Earth and my daily practice be a loose framework, and then move mindfully through whatever comes. There may be meals to enjoy, recreation available, but I simply fold these in, without making them the point. I dwell in the present and enjoy God’s company.

When I travel for Renewal, I have the nurture of my mind front and center. This includes events like conferences and workshops, as well as making visits to cultural and historic sites. I find that this sort of time away is best suited to places I might only visit once, or unique learning opportunities to be nourished by gifted teachers. The spirit I try to bring to this wandering is curiosity, and a generous heart to receive the best of what I encounter. Even as I do this, I leave room for lament, and the weight of grief that comes with encountering the sorrowful side of history. Engaging in this way helps me to learn with my whole body, and not just my intellect.

Respite, like the beach trip pictured above, is about being away from my daily responsibilities, moving intentionally and slowly through the day, savoring the little things, like a lovely walk, a good meal, a quiet moment, a thoughtful story. If I have forgotten for a moment what day it is, or what task I would be doing on a typical day, but feel deeply grounded in the moment, I know that the time is unfolding as I had hoped. This can even be true as I flex and float around weather, shuffling activities, or deciding to do less.

Travel for Revival is about watering the seeds of compassion and justice in my heart. I may be headed to a state or national capital, to the headquarters of a church body, or to another seat of power, but in every case, I go so that I can go together with other people of good conscience. This sort of time away isn’t for entertainment, incidental touring, or relaxing. It’s also not meant to be tourism in the pain and suffering of my neighbors. I go so that our voices can be heard, and I can practice speaking truth to power in great love. I go to encourage the others who go, that our spirits might be lifted that very day, even if the particular curse we are contending with isn’t.

In all of these adventures, there are anchors that they share.

For one, I am never alone.

Whether I am in the company of the Spirit and the prayers of my global community on solo retreat, in the crowd at a conference, on a vacation like the beach trip with my household, in a monastery surrounded by silent siblings, or enjoying a raucous meal with chosen family, I am connected to and in communion with those around me.

Regardless of the form of travel, I attend to my rule of life, and the keeping of my daily spiritual practices. These help create the pace I need.

I look for ways to notice, to savor, and to cherish the good that arises from each kind of time away. In so doing, they become a part of me for the rest of my life.

Practice

Spend some time with your journal or in conversation with a trusted friend.

Reflect on what you learn and wonder about how you might shift your practice to make time away nourishing and nurturing for you!

Be gentle with yourself, you are worth it.

Peace and Everything Good,

The Rev. JM Longworth, OEF Spiritual Direction and Trauma Care

https://www.sdicompanions.org/sdi-profile/GreenMtFriarOEF/ To book an appointment: https://calendly.com/greenmtfriaroef